Skip to main content

New RADF Committee Announced

By January 19, 2022No Comments

Mareeba Shire Council will welcome 6 new members to the Regional Arts Development Fund Advisory Committee in 2022. Following an Expression of Interest process held late in 2021, the Councillors unanimously voted to appoint Kristy Braes, Rhonda Dooley, Merrilee Frankish, Kylie Lambert, Angela Musumeci and Sandy Ryan to the committee. Mayor Angela Toppin recognised the contribution of previous RADF Committee members in achieving outcomes through the partnership with the Queensland Government. “The RADF program is formed on partnerships. Partnerships with the State government, Council and the valuable contributions made by community members including the Advisory Committee and community groups who deliver projects for the benefit of our Shire residents. It is through this model that some truly incredible outcomes have been achieved.”

The 2020/21 RADF program saw investment in 13 projects by community groups and artists in our shire and outcomes included two cultural tourism initiatives, three public murals and four arts skills workshops. “As Mayor, I am incredibly proud of the activities we have supported through RADF and I look forward to working with the new Advisory Committee to continue to support arts and culture in the Mareeba Shire.” The 2021/22 RADF Program will continue to build the capacity of the local arts, cultural and heritage sector and result in positive social, wellbeing and economic outcomes.