Mareeba Shire Council is a long-term community housing provider, registered with the Department of Communities, Housing & Digital Economy and accredited under the Queensland State Regulatory System for Community Housing.

From 19 July 2021, Council entered into a partnership with Mareeba Community Housing Company (MCHC) to deliver the day-to-day tenancy services for all 108 properties.

This means that Mareeba Community Housing Company is responsible for:

  • Look after the running of the tenancy service on a day-to-day basis;
  • Responding to all tenancy matters and enquiries from potential tenants;
  • Managing the maintenance.

Council remains responsible to the Queensland Government for the properties and for the standard of the housing service for seniors.

The housing portfolio comprises 108 units, with the majority of the properties being one bedroom, although there are four two-bedroom properties available. There are certain one-bedroom properties which are not suitable for couples due to their small size.

Applicants for housing must have a current application for housing with the Queensland Government. In addition, to be eligible for Council housing the applicants must satisfy either of the following:

  • Receive the Age Pension/DVA Pension; or
  • Aged 55 years or over receiving a Disability Support Pension.

The following documents provide additional information regarding the management of the community housing service:

Community Housing Tenant Information Guide and Procedure

Community Housing for Seniors Policy

Community Housing Rent Procedure

For further information on the long-term community housing service and for all applications and enquiries, please contact Mareeba Community Housing Company:

Website: Mareeba Community Housing Company – 07 4092 6899 (

Phone: 07 4092 6899


Residential Tenancies Authority

Further information about renting can be obtained by visiting the Residential Tenancies Authority (RTA) website here.