Skip to main content

Celebrate Australia Day at Dimbulah

By January 9, 2020January 26th, 2020No Comments

Mareeba Shire’s unsung heroes and high achievers will be acknowledged at Council’s official Australia Day celebration at Dimbulah on Sunday 26 January.

The annual citizenship and awards ceremony will be held in conjunction with Dimbulah Community Centre’s Family Fun Day.

Mareeba Shire Mayor Tom Gilmore said the ceremony is a wonderful way to celebrate those who make a significant contribution in the local community.

“We have so many inspiring individuals and community groups in our community who work tirelessly behind the scenes and it is important we acknowledge them,” Cr Gilmore said.

Over 30 individuals and groups have been nominated for outstanding contributions or achievements in the sporting, cultural and community fields.

The ceremony is also an opportunity to welcome the Shire’s newest citizens and acknowledge the importance of what it means to become an Australian.

“Whether you are Australian by birth or choose to settle here, Australian citizenship is at the heart of who we are and I am thrilled that people choose to call Mareeba Shire their new home,” Cr Gilmore said.

“Mareeba is a very diverse and multicultural community and Australia Day is a chance for all of us to celebrate this.”

The Dimbulah Community Centre’s Family Fun Day will follow Council’s official Australia Day event with lots of fun for the whole family.

“Australia Day is a significant day to celebrate what it means to be Australian and I encourage everyone to join us at Dimbulah,” Cr Gilmore concluded.

ALL WELCOME: Mareeba Shire Council’s citizenship and awards ceremony will be held on Sunday 26 January 2020 at the Dimbulah Memorial Hall, commencing at 9.30am.

Nominees 2020

Alexis Ford
Barry Simpson
Brooke Srhoj
Bryde’s Boxing Gym Mareeba
Cain Hastie
Dimbulah Community Kindergarten Committee
Leafgold Weir Rural Fire Service
Giuliano Cordenos
Hannah Macleod
Jake Bombardieri
Jake Priestly
Jamie Hewitt Toms
Janette Hodgkinson
Jennifer Murat
Joe Moro
Julatten Theatre Group
Kent Duffield
Lions International 201Q2 Zone 2 Tablelands District Convention
Mareeba Community Kindergarten – 50th Anniversary Celebrations
Mareeba Gymnastics Club
Mareeba State School Art Show
Mareeba State School AUSLAN Choir
Matthew Carroll
Michael and Lindy Alba
Nicole Theakston
Noel Prowse
PCYC Mareeba Seniors Club Organisers
Qamile Myrteza
Roeith Geraghty
Shirley Keuch
Susi Wahjuningrum
Terrinette Neilson
Wayne Bryde
Western Progress Association Inc. Watsonville