Skip to main content
FeaturedLatest from CouncilNews

Australia Day Award Recipients 2023

By January 26, 2023January 27th, 2023No Comments

Image Gallery: See bottom of the page

At Council’s annual Australia Day Awards Ceremony on Thursday, 26 January 2023, Mayor Toppin and Councillors presented awards to worthy residents that make a significant contribution to our Shire.

Congratulations to the award recipients:

  • Citizen of the Year – Marcia Nguyen

Marcia has been opening her home freely to First Nations children and families in the Dimbulah community for over two decades. Marcia also works closely with the Dimbulah State School and provides support with appointments, transport, and events for people in her care.

  • Young Citizen of the Year – Coco Gambino

A Mareeba State High School graduate, Coco is recognised for her sporting and academic achievements as well as her commitment to volunteering. She has achieved academic success whilst working two jobs, planning a new business, and acting as a willing role model to her peers and community.

  • Excellence Award – Alannah Falvo

Alannah is recognised for her dedication and achievements in academic pursuits, sports, cultural and community activities. A College Captain at St Stephen’s Catholic College in 2022, Alannah made a significant contribution to the school and broader community.

  • Senior Community Service Award – Michael Dwyer

Known for his kind and compassionate nature, Michael is recognised for his community service as a volunteer Justice of the Peace at the Mareeba Courthouse, and his involvement with the Catholic Church.

  • Junior Community Service Award – Joshua Snell

Joshua is applauded for his academic excellence, receiving an A+ in all subject areas, as well as his leadership and community service. Joshua has represented St Stephen’s at several events in the community, and has also achieved sporting success, competing at a Peninsula and District level in cross-country.

  • Senior Community Service Award – Bill McKerlie

Bill is recognised as a great ambassador for the Mareeba Shire and his community service. He has served on the Mt Molloy Rural Fire Brigade for over 25 years, and as first Officer for the past 15 years. He is always available to train and mentor new members.

  • Senior Sportsperson of the Year – Christian Mukadi

Christian is recognised for his tremendous contribution to the Mareeba Bulls Soccer Club Juniors and broader community. He has also volunteered as Junior President and coached three teams all while studying for a masters and working a full-time job.

  • Junior Sportsperson of the Year – Frank Tulloch

Frank has been a member of the Mareeba Gymnastics Club for the past 15 years and he is recognised for his leadership and commitment to sports and the community.  Achieving at a national level, Frank’s dedication is to be commended.

  • Highly Commended in the Sports Category – Aerielle Hobbler

Aerielle is applauded for her sporting achievements, and her dedication, drive, and commitment even in the face of significant challenges. She is an inspiration to others and has contributed to the development of female sports at the Mareeba State High School and at a community level.

  • Environment and Community Service Award – Delwyn Richards

Delwyn is recognised as being a foremost expert in Australian birdlife and he shares this knowledge to build awareness of the importance of birdlife, locally and further afield. He is also applauded for the significant volunteering he undertakes to keep the Shire clean.

  • Community Organisation of the Year – Mareeba Gymnastics Club

The Club is recognised for their service to our community for over 100 years. The Club caters for all people in an encouraging and inclusive environment and provides a pathway for young athletes, and opportunities for social and non-competitive activities.  Run completely by a volunteer committee, the Club also hosts regular in-house events and, in 2022, four large events including the FNQ Regional Championships.

Congratulations to all nominees & award recipients!