Skip to main content

Local heroes to be recognised

By January 16, 2018April 9th, 2018No Comments

Mareeba Shire’s unsung heroes and high achievers will be recognised at a special ceremony next Thursday evening (25 January).

Family and friends are invited to attend the celebration at the Mareeba International Club from 6.30pm. Official proceedings will include the announcement of the Australia Day Awards winners followed by the cutting of the cake and a light supper.

Mayor Tom Gilmore said the annual event is a wonderful opportunity to celebrate those people who have been nominated for their outstanding contributions or achievements in our Shire.

“We are encouraging everyone to come along on Thursday night to celebrate what it means to be Australian and acknowledge those people in our local community who make such a difference,” Cr Gilmore said.

“This year, we received 27 outstanding nominations of individuals and community groups who all, in some way or another, have made this Shire a better place.”

The following individuals and community groups have been nominated for an Australia Day Award (in alphabetical order).

Sharyn Banville

Helen Bryce

Kiara Cabassi

Megan Cappella

Di Curtis

Lachlan Ford

John Gordon

Jamie Hewitt-Toms

Tanya Jenkins

Mateen Latif

Patrick McLean

Amelia Morris

Bradley Newlands

Carmelina Niceforo

Megan O’Brien

Rowena Petersen

Elena Pilat

Laura Price

Del Richards

Jake Simpson

Trisha Spry

Pam Strelnikoff

Theresa Whiteing


Mareeba Gymnastics Club

Mareeba Mountain Goats

Mareeba Junior Rugby League

St Anthony’s P&F Association