Skip to main content

Local Heroes Nominated – Australia Day 2022

By January 20, 2022January 27th, 2022No Comments

Mareeba Shire Council Mayor, Angela Toppin, commends all the nominees for Australia Day Awards in 2022.

“This year, Council received 20 nominations for worthy individuals and groups from across the Shire who exemplify the community spirit and generosity that is so evident throughout the region.”

The nominees for Mareeba Shire Council’s Australia Day Awards are:

Lee Gordon

Tammy Sivyer

Tom Paterson

Leonard Hodges

Historical Society of Mareeba

Irene Roy

Angus Campman

Wildlife & Raptor Care Queensland

Mareeba Gymnastics Club Inc

Natasha Srhoj

The Hungry Pug

Rotary FNQ Field Days

Cain Hastie

Norma Moloney

Ellen Duff

The Combined Saints Band

Frances Petersen

Kara Trimble

Chillagoe Alliance Inc

Nicole Theakston


“This year, due to density limits, the Australia Day Awards Ceremony will be by invite only,” Mayor Toppin explained. “However, Council will live-stream the ceremony on Facebook and we invite all members of the community to join the celebration ‘virtually’.”